The South Asia Inscriptions Database

Mandasor Stone Fragment of Gauri

A stone described by #Sircar_1953-54b as a slab, but called a broken pillar by #Trivedi_1956 and #SadhuRam_1957. Dimensions are not reported; the surface must exceed 25 by 23 centimetres, the dimensions of the inscription. According to both #Trivedi_1956 and #SadhuRam_1957, this is the upper part of a pillar, square in cross-section. #Trivedi_1956 believes, for reasons that are not stated, that the original pillar had been about 40 cm tall. The inscription is on one face. Each of the four faces has an engraved wheel (with a total diameter of 24 cm), in all probability Viṣṇu's cakra, at the top. The bottom of one such wheel is visible in the rubbing of the inscription.

Object URI
OB00190
Extent
>25cm width x >23cm height
History details
The stone had presumably been lying under shallow soil until a flood of the river Śivnā in 1946, when it was uncovered and found in a field in the vicinity of Mandasor (24.065692, 75.080312). It was moved to a shed (or perhaps, as it seems from #Trivedi_1956:95, built into the stone foundation of a mud hut) and later noticed by a local goldsmith with an interest in antiquities, eventually coming to the attention of a history teacher who took photographs, then moved the stone itself to the Government Intermediate College of Mandasor where a small museum had been recently started. The photographs reached the office of the Government Epigraphist in 1954, and in 1955 Sircar studied the original stone in Mandasor. There seems to be no Government Intermediate College in Mandasor any more; there are a number of other Government Colleges though. The location of the inscription is not known. #Trivedi_1956:95 claims to have discovered the base of this pillar "imbedded in the same platform" (presumably of the mud house), but he failed to discover any additional inscribed fragments.
Event Type
Stored
Place
Government Intermediate College, Mandasor
Event Place Uncertain